Major Initiatives Implementation and Oversight (MIIO)

MIIO advises the Vice-Chancellor on the implementation of University strategy and monitors key initiatives. To ensure co-ordination between the two bodies, the Vice-Chancellor and Senior Vice-Presidents are members of both the Vice-Chancellor's Executive Committee, which deals with all matters of strategy,  policy  and budget, and MIIO.

Terms of reference

Major Initiatives Implementation and Oversight will:

  • Make recommendations to the Vice-Chancellor on the implementation of the University's strategy and monitor the University's performance against the strategic and operational plans;
  • Ensure a prompt and strongly co-ordinated approach to the evaluation of academic and business opportunities, review submissions for major new initiatives against the University's strategic plan and monitor their performance and risks;
  • Review the use of resources and performance across all organisational units (eg faculties, schools, departments, portfolios);
  • Monitor the University's key risk profile, key risk and performance indicators and financial performance against its strategic objectives;
  • Receive formal Post Implementation Review (PIR) report from the responsible executive on completion or transfer to 'business as usual' status.

Meeting frequency

The MIIO will meet once every three weeks.


Substitutes will not be permitted unless a member plans to be absent from the University for more than four weeks. However if a Dean is an apology then another Dean may replace them.


The following shall be ex officio members of the committee:

Name Position
Professor Margaret Gardner Vice-Chancellor (Chair)
Professor Marc Parlange Provost and Senior Vice-President
Mr Peter Marshall Chief Operating Officer and Senior Vice-President
Mr David Pitt Chief Financial Officer and Senior Vice-President
Professor Abid Khan Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Global Engagement)
Professor Susan Elliott Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education)
Mr Ken Sloan Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Enterprise)
Professor Pauline Nestor Senior Vice-Provost and Vice-Provost (Research)
Professor Ian Smith Vice-Provost (Research & Research Infrastructure
Professor Colm Kearney Dean, Faculty of Business and Economics
Professor Bryan Horrigan Dean, Faculty of Law
Professor Christina Mitchell Dean, Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences
Professor Jordan Nash Dean, Faculty of Science
Mr Russell Elliott Vice-President (Services)
Mr Trevor Woods Chief Information Officer
Ms Janette Burke Interim University Librarian
Ms Jo Mithen CEO, Monash College
Mr Fabian Marrone Chief Marketing Officer
Dr Fiona Neilson Interim Executive Director, Office of the Provost
Mr Damien Farrell Executive Director, External Relations, Development and Alumni
Ms Emily Spencer Acting Chief of Staff and Director, Office of the Vice-Chancellor
Ms Moh-Lee Ng Director, Risk & Compliance

In attendance: Secretary to MIIO

Other senior staff to attend by invitation as appropriate.

Meeting dates for 2017

Meetings take place normally on a three weekly cycle on Wednesdays.

Submission date Meeting date
17 Feb 23 Feb
9 Mar 15 Mar
30 Mar 5 Apr
20 Apr 26 Apr
25 May 31 May
15 Jun 21 Jun
13 Jul  19 Jul
10 Aug 16 Aug
24 Aug 30 Aug
14 Sep 20 Sep
5 Oct 11 Oct
26 Oct 1 Nov
23 Nov 29 Nov

All submissions to MIIO should be prefaced with the one-page summary sheet (DOCX, 0.7 MB).

All major initiative updates should use the MIIO Status Report Template (DOCX, 0.73 MB)

For detailed information and templates regarding the approval workflow and reporting of initiatives, please refer to intranet pages of Financial Resources Management (Monash Staff only).

Contact information

Professor Margaret Gardner AO
Phone: (03) 9902 9851

Ms Kerrie Edwards
Phone: (03) 9902 9851